Uninspired by DKs (so far)

Most of what I’m reading is uninspiring for Death Knights in MoP, which has been said before. As the weeks pass and significant changes are not making the MMOChamp, EJs, and the other DKs I read happy. My 2c: it appears that some abilities have a cool factor, but integrate poorly into the DK mindset. By example the use of DeathRunes as a new resource linked to specific powers, rather than being a catch-all rune to grant flexibility.

To the point that I will (a) take a series look at what is being said to validate it, and (b) consider a class or game change. Class change is less dramatic, less QQ-ish, as I see adapting to my preference within a game I like is better than just quitting. That said, many other options are available apart from World of Warcraft, and perhaps a change is needed. I’ve stopped playing before and returned to WoW and enjoyed it again. It is a viable strategy for fun.

As shallow as it sounds, I’d prefer a class with far less time monitoring the resources and far more time watching the battle, moving the character, and reacting to circumstances. I was a fan of simple Warlock rotations, and loved when Rogues had macros to do smashing dps. Currently the Death Knight (and some other classes) feel far more like a set of nested IF-THEN logical processes than an Undead Knight fighting through a world of challenges. Mixing up the fluff and formulas in my head is how I view the class.

Heck it would even be nice to enjoy a fight /game rather than monitoring rune cycles. There seems to be a new design principal where each class must now have secondary and tertiary resources to monitor (DK RP, Runes, special runes).

One thought on “Uninspired by DKs (so far)

  1. Pingback: No dk updates, harumph! | TyphoonAndrew's – Eye of the Storm

Comments are closed.