Sign-up for double the games you play now

The Annual Subscription is a solid offering: WoW for a year which I’d be playing a moderate proportion of anyway, Diablo 3 for free, and a few in game trinkets – clever bundle. I don’t understand the hate over this offer, as it is an option you can really ignore, and the only slight advantage is the extra mount, which is just a cheesy option anyway.

I think its too early to say that Mists will be poor, or if it will be excellent. It will be very different to what WoW is now, that’s all I know. With that in mind, and my odd game time constraints, Diablo 3 is looking like a great option. Once I decided to give D3 a good solid play the choice of how I got it was easy too. I can play on my own schedule, and be a solo player, just like when I played D1 and D2.

So the annual sub suckered me in, I took it. I’ll play Warcraft for at least another 3 months, probably more like another 6 on and off. Then D3 will be worth a look, and it now that I’ve paid for it, I get the opportunity to play both Diablo and WoW as I choose.

My only reservation is GuildWars 2 and Star Wars TOR – both of which are an unknown quantity, but I’ll take a look if they have a free demo. Out of the two TOR looks to be very solid, and frankly I’m not afraid to come into another game a few months late if it happens to be brilliant. A good game will have a life of at least a year, and playing after they fix the initial bugs is better anyway.

If you’re going to play wow for a while longer, and will buy D3 – you should get this. If you’re not going to play D3 and don’t care about silly mounts, then don’t do it. Save your money for another game, a good bottle of wine, or whatever you happen to like that week.

Happy Gaming

3 thoughts on “Sign-up for double the games you play now

  1. For me the hook is the gaurunteed Beta access for MoP. I look at it like this, I’m going to be playing WoW at least through the end of Cataclysm, that’s 8 months at the minimum. That’s $120 dollars right there. I was going to buy D3, so that’s another $60. So for the cost of $160, I’m essentially getting $20 off D3 and 4 months free of WoW. On top of that, I get to try MoP before buying it, so I can judge for myself if I’m going to invest in that, rather than taking a blind waiver, it’ll potentially save me another $60.

    I just hope they fix the wings on the mount, because if they give it actual Tyrial wings, I don’t think my pally will fly anything else.

  2. The MoP beta is not much of a draw card for me, except as you say as a test to see how good it actually might be. Good point.
    I have a fear that the changes will make WoW far less like the game I enjoy now, and more lick a click based fighting game (no auto attack). Also seems to smell a lot like what you’d do if you wanted consoles to be involved, despite how poor the console might be without a keyboard.
    Not to say that I might not enjoy the game they create either, just that it will be very different from what it is now. In 8 months we’ll have more than enough information about TOR and the other games, so should be far easier to see what I enjoy playing. And getting the violence out of my system with a D3 Barbarian will be good enough.

  3. Well, only the monk will not have an auto attack, and if you don’t like it, don’t play one. If the melee model for the monk is ignored by a large enough portion of the playerbase, Blizz will take steps to correct it.

Comments are closed.