How to choose gear upgrades?

Like many players, I’m always hunting for ways to play warcraft smarter, rather than just more often. A decreased amount of free time means that doing the right runs, to get the right gear is a priority. And as I’m gearing many toons at once I thought I’d share a little wowhead-fu, on how I decide where to run.

WoWHead has a ton of stuff that is exposed in the filters for gear, and when combined with Stat Weightings, this is easy mode for finding what instances to concentrate on, and where to spend your Emblems of Whatever.

Try this search as an example of Paladin Tank gear:

http://www.wowhead.com/?items&filter=qu=3:4;minle=213;ub=2;cr=105:106:118:118:118;crs=-2323:-2323:47241:45624:40753;crv=0:0:0:0:0;ma=1;gb=1;gm=3;wt=22:21:117:45:42:46:20:41:44:43;wtv=100:60:59:55:45:30:16:8:7:6

What does this little link do:

  • Shows all gear purchasable with Emblems of Triumph or below,
  • And also from any 5 man instance,
  • Which is ilevel 213 or greater,
  • Sorted by gear location,
  • Which a Paladin can use,
  • Sorted in priority of what a Protection (tank) spec paladin might be after.

Note: I’ve excluded the Frost Emblems, as they are slow to get unless you’re a regular raider, and I’m aiming for fast upgrades I can use as Emblems of Frost are gathered over time.

Now that I have a baseline search, there are tweaks to change that after the break; bit also consider these as shortcuts to gear:

Now these are the tweaks I play with:

  • If I’m after a item in a specific location, I just click the location I need.
  • It’s easy to switch to another class using the filter drop-downs,
  • Likewise easy to up the ilevel, so you’re seeing only 219, 226, or 232 gear.

Tips:

  • Be warned that some 226 items are perhaps better than 232 items, due to the weight scales.
  • Also be careful to read the weight scales, as the stats the scale applies might not apply to your specific toon. The reliable example of this is Hit Rating, where most dps need a certain score. Now a few of my toons have all the Hit Rating they need, so I open the “show” screen of the Stat Weightings area, and delete the Hit Rating, and re-submit the filter.

What are Stat Weightings?

Go have a read of WoWHead’s guide on Stat Weightings; useful background info.

Happy grinding.

4 thoughts on “How to choose gear upgrades?

  1. Somebody must have linked to this post from a popular resource; site visits are way up for this page.

    If you’re visiting for the first time I’d love you to comment to say where / how you found this.

Comments are closed.