DK LF Guild as DPS; and Recruitment needs

Yesterday I read about a guild recruitment website called WoW Headhunter and for me its announcement in the community is topical. I’m thinking about a new guild. This is one of those brain dump posts where I’m thinking while typing…

wow-headhunterThe need for a good Guild Recruitment method is almost as needed as a good LFG tool, but it is basically how we find like minded folks. You might think this is a little skewed (and personal), but now that I’m looking for a new guild, I’m finding that there are no measures or consistencies in the way we’re talking about Guilds.

So WoW Headhunter has something to offer. A quick review:

  • Searching is by Server and Faction. Good.
  • You can browse really quickly, and the information is succinct.
  • Application to a Guild is simple, but its odd that you can’t quickly create a login without doing an application.
  • The classes, levels, needed for, number of folks, guild website and short paragraph are stuff you’ve expect.
  • Needs a time stamp or an obvious way for the browser to see how long an opportunity has been present.
  • The key feature is the type of player is sorted using a very interesting series of metrics.
    • Reckless vs Deliberate
    • Sociable vs Competitive
    • Fun vs Serious
    • Learner vs Veteran.

measures-of-playersI love this idea. Its like the Myers-Briggs personality assessment, but in a WoW sense. This is a step in the right direction, and if the community started to use a scheme like this we might better understand other people’s wants. eg. when a R.C.S.V. says they like chatting, we’ve got an idea that they’re chatting about serious tactics, not about the silly wow movie; or the very least the things they’re chatting about will not be entry level content.

It could be argued that these ratings are still totally subjective to the individual, but at least some measures are there, and there are not any tools I can think of where a user’s objectivity can be neutralised. Maybe someone with a sociological background might tweak the classifications, or add some more? I think the creators deserve some kudos for putting the system together. It is worth checking out.

Like all these 3rd party services to WoW it will only be successful once the usage base reaches a critical mass. That is a hard thing to achieve given the Realm and Recruitment forums exist, but the forums are not a patch on this – and adoption already seems to be in progress. All three servers I chose had a few Alliance and Horde guilds looking for various classes.

I also like it because it helps address the bad, frustrating, and too narrow aspects of finding a guild:

  • Casual vs Hardcore as terms are way too binary, so over used, and to easy to misunderstand.
  • A measure of how experienced the applicant might be, without it degenerating into a full leet-sauce resume.
  • What attitude they might bring to a team or raid.

My Case.

I mentioned that this was topical because I’ve been contemplating a change of guild for at least a few weeks. I was initially hesitant to mention this online, but in reality a choice of guild decision is fundemental to your enjoyment of the game – so why be guarded about it once the thought has been around a while?

When you apply you might be putting your neck on the line with your current guild. Are they watching, or do they care? How will the new guild view your application, especially if you’ve jumped guilds a lot recently? Do guild officers even consider a wow-stat lookup on your previous memberships? It used to be talked about a lot.

Fortunately I am also not a guild-hopper. The Epilogue guys started up as a set of returned players who were spread across a few games and different servers, to experience the WotLK content. Some of us left the most excellent folks in Exile to join them as they were Aussies playing in Aussie hours, and via a loose connection I know some of them. It made sense. As a grouping it worked very well. I don’t think my guild would overly worry/care much, as I’m not a lynch-pin of any of the groups (DK dps is hardly rare). However for some reason I still do care; especially if it means loosing contact with the people themselves. In a odd way I like to be connected to people I play with, especially when they are actually good natured folks, but then being within the game as characters is not always needed. I know its a contradiction to say that I want to progress but keep the friends, but I do.

What failed was the typical burn out which is prevalent at the moment. The core Epilogue guys played very hard for a long time. They started on day one, pushed to level to 80, pushed through content, and really got into it. I was less dedicated at the start-up time (mainly RL conflicts) and took much longer to get to 80. This meant as they were starting to get bored just as I was just getting really excited. Being a DK didn’t help the delay as you start at 58 rather than 70.

So now I find myself in a guild of good people that is basically on pause. Other guildies have either parked their toons and are doing other things, have moved Guilds, or are leveling alts. A few are doing all three. The runs are irregular, and when its not booked in it is hard to justify saying no to RL activity. I think its reasonable to start thinking about the alternatives, and before I waste anyone else’s time, I need to identify what I am looking for. Nothing worse than interviewing somebody who does not know what they want.

What I’m looking for:

  • Weekly 25 man raids. Ideally this would be regular 25 man raid of the new content coming, with 10 mans as optional; but I think I’d settle for a really stable 10 man group. 25 man is the target result though.
  • Guilding with guys who pay attention, can learn and then do the fights, and also don’t become assholes about always hitting the last 1% of efficiency is important too. This is a balance thing and why I don’t rate myself as a true Hardcore player. There should be room for the odd screw-up, mistake, or hassle – just not every pull.
  • Raiding seriously two weeknights a week, with an optional 3rd. Any night except Friday and Saturday night is ok. I’ll book in Raids in the same way I’d book in an offline interest. I have no problem saying no to my partner if I have promised to raid. Likewise though I need that commitment to justify saying no. So serious sign-ups are a real priority.
  • If extra guild raids happen then I’m cool with that, I’d just prefer to only “lock-in” two a week. In all likelihood I’d be online and keen up to 4 nights a week, maybe more. But keeping the opportunity to have a RL is important to me too.
  • Start time of 7 pm Adelaide time, 7:30 pm Melbourne/Sydney time is ideal on weeknights. A bit before or after is fine, but starting a raid at 5:30pm or midnight will not work.
  • Iron clad commitment to those raid nights. Not a “we’ll see what numbers we have”. I’m happy to be on the Alt list, if it means we have 11 or 12 online. I’ll go do some dailies until I can sub-in, or at least build credit for getting a spot in the next week’s run.
  • A loot system that is scaled to the runs. That means that if its DKP then a separate DKP list for the progression raid. If its a SK list, then that should be scaled too. And for the sake of a really solid regular run, I’d put up with almost any option. I’m a fan of assigned loot, but have not had a huge range of loot systems to really compare the theory with reality. Any system has issues (DKP, SK, loot-council, etc).
  • I am:
    • More Deliberate than Reckless (9/1) = risk adverse, don’t leroy me, and don’t see the point of getting smashed 12 times in a night unless we’re learning from scratch, or there is a reasonable chance the next time will be a win. I get that progression means wipes, but planned progression is good; endless deaths are not fun withouy purpose.
    • More Competitive than Sociable (6/4) = like to progress and be efficient, but also want to listen to and value my fellow players. This is where I am most torn.
    • More Serious than Fun (7/3) = hate folks who take a joke too far, and talk endlessly while we’re trying something new/hard, spending a night doing RP in Stormwind is a waste to me. Gearing your Alt through a few instances is fine if they’re going to be used in the future. And the odd joke and strange story is what help build a team in the first place.
    • More a veteran than a Learner (7/3) = been playing for a long while now, and understand the common mechanics and most of the advanced stuff (itemisation, haste, ratings vs values, buff composition). Played a range of classes through to 60, to 70, and now working on a 2nd 80. I have a shocking memory though, so sometimes it takes a while for the brain to spin up. Thus I tend not to lead runs.

So thats it, I’m basically now looking through the Nagrand Realm forums, sniffing for Alliance guilds that are (somehow??) missing melee dps – and who might match my needs/style. There are heaps who seem to raid 4-5 nights a week, a shite-ton looking for some sort of healers, and even a few who could use some range dps. But hey, its a challenge we’re all in this for.

Well geared DPS Death Knight LF 25M Raiding guild, 2+ nights per week… Mortigen on Nagrand.

My new mini-game is called World of Recruitment.

2 thoughts on “DK LF Guild as DPS; and Recruitment needs

  1. If you guys were on Nagrand, I’d be there in a heartbeat. At the moment I’m trying to stay on Nagrand-US. Are you finding it hard to grab a DK dps on the server, as if so you’re on a very unique server.

Comments are closed.