I Hate Blog Scrapers (non-wow & nsfw)

Seems I’m getting a large amount of my content re-published in scraped form on some aggregation sites. I hate that. A lot.

If it was a commentary, useful feedback, or even abuse I’d be ok – but just re-posting for the purpose of link ads is off the scale wrong. Fu*kers don’t even credit my name in the feed, its just listed as “Random Feed”.

You’re on notice you leechy creepy bastards: every now and then I’m going to say something acidic, virulent, and mean. And there is no way in hell I’m going to link to you in comments and such; the height of rudeness. Trackbacks? Ha!

If you’re reading this, and its not on https://typhoonandrew.wordpress.com then its stolen. So how about some total mis-information for those wonderful scape-site:

  • Hunter patch 3.1 will further reduce their dps; akin to the to-the-ground Paladin nurf
  • Druid Tree form will have movement reduced by 15%, because you’re trees.
  • Warlock Tier 8 gear set will feature a pink horns (much like donkey ears) with green sparkles on the top.
  • Paladin seals will now need to be re-applied after Judgement.
  • Mages will have be given new summon power akin to warlocks, so that warlocks can be removed from the game. And the new Pink T8 set that was for Warlocks becomes Mage t8. With a blue sparkles. Bet that stopped the mages laughing.

Arrg, enough. Scrape that you bastards.

10 thoughts on “I Hate Blog Scrapers (non-wow & nsfw)

  1. If you start levelling your priest let me know.
    I’ll dust of the warrior. LFG will just be for dps.

  2. I don’t know if you’re allowed to use plugins on wordpress.com, but if you can I suggest you check out RSS Footer.

    It doesn’t prevent your content from being scraped (because nothing can), but it does automatically generate a link back to the very post being scraped. So at least the scraped text will link back here.

    Better than nothing.

  3. Yeah the scrapers have picked up several of mine lately. My guess is you’ve been hit by the same one. Some of my posts did have links to my site and the rest I commented the bottom “If you liked this article please visit the original author at (my Site) for more content”

    The comment has actually driven some traffic back, but I understand how it can piss you off. I’m not trying to make money by blogging and it sucks others will abuse that.

    Also make sure to put a copywrite notice on your site. It’s not much but should you ever decide to persue a claim it will help.

  4. I can use plugins, but as they are still the host most plugins are not allowed. If I moved to self hosted, then that’d be ideal. Thanks for the heads-up, I’ll double check what options are in basic WP as they might have added this in one of the updates.

  5. They all sound good..
    How about Hunter’s will be able to sacrifice (permanently) their pet in order to feed the raid, and

    Death Knights will now get a Pocket Mage, similar to a trinket, usable once every 15 minutes to summon food or portals.

    Paladins will have their “Judgments” replaced with “Pardons”. These will heal their opponents.

    I had wondered why people were including a link at the bottom of their (RSS) posts… now I know why.

  6. Gnomeaggedon – that’s brilliant. Eating pets FTW.

    The raid should be able to get the Druids to go Bear or Moonkin form too and get some nice juicy ribs, or a bear burger. Or epic flight form, for the Epic Wings recipe (adds 15% movement, 30 Haste rating, and turns your toon into a white bearded, southern gentleman, with a taste for fried chicken – for 30 minutes).

    Nobody would eat cat/travel/seal form, as its in bad taste. *wocka wocka*

  7. I get scraped too, and need to do myself a security footer. It comes and goes in waves,and the last few days have been awefully bad.

  8. Being someone still in her first 6 months of playing WoW I want to thank you sincerely for all the really helpful advice, insight, and commentary I’ve found on this site. Genuinely striving not to qualify for the infamous “Huntard” designation, my learning curve is definitely accelerated/improved each time I come here.

    IMHO playing WoW is a lot like learning to ski. At first it’s a combination of frustration and desperation requiring sheer grit and determination, but with time it actually begins to be a lot of fun.

    Life is good. Occasionally Life on Azeroth is even better. Ayup.

    /cheer and /kiss from a greatful lurker who has come out of the shadows to say thank you typhoonandrew.

  9. Hi Taglys, Glad you like the site. In my first six months I didn’t know my arse from my elbow, so the fact you’re reading blogs and such, I’d guess you’re nothing even close to a new player, even though there are people who have been playing for three years who don’t read a thing.

    Thank you.

Comments are closed.