Thoughts through the quiet time

Now that it’s gone a bit quiet around my house, and I’ve been out of game for a while I feel like sharing some short thoughts on gaming, which touch on MMORPGS and WoW.

Gaming wise, a few odd sessions of D3 and Sir, You are Being Hunted is all I’m fitting in, and that was/is mostly months ago. I finally finished the basic story of D3 and watched the lovely cut-scene/movie. Those Blizzard folks still know how to make a reasonable ending. Playing on with D3 without the expansion feels like running on a hamster wheel because the story is over. So now I either pay for the next story segment or do something else. Fair choice too, the game had enough content to make the initial purchase worth while, and its not like I finished it early.

Even if I had more time I’m not sure I would be installing a new MMO either. The banter about WildStar seems to say its pretty and interesting, but is very much the same as what has come before. That is not a bad idea for games as a moderate subscriber base can keep a company profitable for years; but after the zest and spin of the announcements – its kind of a dull outcome. I ran-up an Eve trail account and almost logged in. Almost, but then remembered that the game is slow and takes more time than I’ve got at the moment, and the account has lapsed. I thought about StarWars too as it’s free, and I could play the each of the class quests through to max level and then delete the character/account. Hmm, perhaps.

I miss logging in to something to play. I’d like to run WoW’s UP for the mount once a week, and perhaps a few other mindless farming tasks, but only to be able to say I’ve collected those pixels. Knowing that I’ll likely play WoW in the future means that the heat is drained from the desire to login to farm. I can farm later between other activities.

So now its books, pen and paper games, and catching up on TV shows.

7 thoughts on “Thoughts through the quiet time

  1. Oh yes, I expect to resub at some point. Just while there is so much at home and not much to do apart from the farming stuff I’m saving my subscription fee,

  2. I finally succumbed after MMO hiatus and started playing Elder Scrolls Online and it’s great. Different enough from WoW to be engaging. A lot of effort has gone into the quest content and includes great voice acting and story lines. I think you would enjoy AB :)

  3. I was dubious too, but I am certainly an advocate now. As a long time WoW player it is also interesting to see how they have addressed certain mechanics and etc. I am only level 11 and already feel like I have experienced sooo much content and there is sooo much more to go. That is a good feeling. Let me know if you try it out so I can send you a friend request :)

  4. I did play briefly in the Beat and we really underwhelmed by the game play. It seemed to be a Never Winter Nights clone with clunkier combat. Since I left I’m told it is much better, but I really want to see it before I buy it.

Comments are closed.