Flowchart – Are you a Raider?

Those who raid seriously are sometimes a little extreme in views, and those who don’t raid with passion can sometimes not understand the devotion and effort it takes. Thus I seek to insult a wide cross-section of the community with the “Are you a Raider?” flowchart.

TLDR = many hoops to jump through, not enough bullets

Its been done before, likely better elsewhere too. However this post was written more as therapy for me in terms of dealing with that last decision point before the final answer, than actually seeking to be innovative or compassionate when thinking about raids. If you take a look you’ll see that the criteria I’ve suggested are really very open and far “less strict” than many raiding guilds. That’s just my 2c perspective.

I get miffed when a player has a sense of entitlement beyond the rules well established and what is reasonable – so I wasted a few minutes of therapy crafting this sheet so I can always keep myself in check when it comes to getting raid ready, and then staying raid ready.

Some days I’m not a raider by this measure, and that can be OK in isolation. It’s not OK when it’s to the detriment of others. eg. I’m still using Unholy for Death Knight dps when Frost 2H or dual wield is technically higher. My reason is that I grok Unholy far more, and the difference is slight. That said, I’m switching within a week or so, or overnight if I get another 1-handed weapon of item level 463. Excuses, excuses.

This post was just going to be a pic of the flowchart, but I’m mid-rant now so here is some other stuff I left out:

  • An alt spec geared up as well as main spec. You’re not “geared” until you have two viable roles, or two modes for the pure dps classes who sometimes suffer due to spec choice.
  • Actually understanding why your stats of priority are the way they are, and what your soft caps and hard caps are. This includes making an intelligent and defensible choice when it comes to things like Mitigation vs Avoidance for tanks, etc.
  • Turn up on time, and take your bio breaks when everyone else does.
  • Raid awareness and no fire standing (google them, its faster)
  • Do research. Be willing to use improvement advice websites like Mr Robot or others.
  • Be humble about being right.
  • Don’t be a greedy gear hound.

In our guild only the Raid Leader gets to hop from the first box to the last box, and that person would get vilified socially if they skipped over any checklists anyway.

Happy raiding.

..bugs, bugs, more bugs come to us

2 thoughts on “Flowchart – Are you a Raider?

  1. My only concern is the pets one. A few of our tops raiders are absolutely addicted to pet battles. I think Diggl is in the top 500 ranked pet battler in the world. He is also one of our top DPS, well geared and researched. So you have to be careful with that one. But on the flip side there are people who have chosen pets over raid gearing and research which detrimentally affects progression and raid gearing. Just be careful of the wording of that one.

  2. I’m not targeting our raiders, its more about the perspectives we see – although I’m not sugar coating the post this time. By my own admission I’d not always make that grade.

Leave a Reply

