Warcraft Year in Review

This blog is primarily about World of Warcraft, so at years end this is the time to ponder some questions raised by the good folks out there in the community.

Q1. What did you do in the World of Warcraft in 2009 that you’d never done before?

A1. This is the first year that I’ve purchased pvp gear, and then gone on to enjoy using it. I’m starting to understand the appeal and reasons for pvp in world of warcraft. The time and gold spent in getting the gear ready was made really satisfying when I started to hold my own in pvp.

Q2. What was your favorite new place that you visited?

A2. Has to be the ToC instance, simply due to the fact that it has such an odd reason to be there, the story was large in terms of the experience we had, and yet I found it misplaced in the overall grand scheme of the game. The fact its strange makes it appeal, as it keeps me thinking.

It was certainly not Ulduar, as the boss fights in there have to be some of the worst for “cheap theme” or “trick mechanic” I think I’ve had the displeasure to experience.

Q3. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?

A3. More time in game. My game time was basically back to being a casual player, and that is hard to take after playing a lot harder for a while.

Q4. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

A4. Probably getting the Crusader title, but I’m not a heavy achievement nut. Getting consistent top dps in some runs was nice for a while too. Or not reaching through the internet and killing other players…if I had force powers…

Q5. What was your biggest failure?

A5. Missing raids, and the way my real life wrecked my raid attendance. Going from a raid leader to a casual was a blow, but had to be done.

Q6. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

A6. A few things:

  • Patch 3.3 – hopefully the best patch they add until the xpac.
  • the flying book can be used by Alts
  • All the heirloom items

Q7. What do you wish you’d done less of?

A7. Pugging with asshats. I bet the spread of asshat will be wider, but somehow we’ll still have failure with the new tool too.

Q8. What was your favorite WoW blog or podcast?

A8. Outlandish podcast because they are a silly munch of folks who sound much like my guildies from years ago. Great songs too.

Q9. Tell us a valuable WoW lesson you learned in 2009.

A9. Gearscore means nothing. Your rep with old world means nothing, and the fact you can speak leet means less than nothing.

This post was brought to you by the shared topic/meme in the Blog Azeroth forums.

Oh, and my 5 blogs to spam with a similar post:

2 thoughts on “Warcraft Year in Review

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Warcraft Year in Review « TyphoonAndrew's – Eye of the Storm -- Topsy.com

  2. Hiya Typhoon, thanks for the suggestion, but I’ll refrain on this one.

    I relate to you, going from RL to casual. It’s painful.

Leave a Reply

